5nil's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • July 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Archive for July 21st, 2008

Video: Sunderland vs Sporting Lisbon Highlights

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

July 21, 2008: Sunderland boss Roy Keane was sent off as he saw his side overcome Sporting Lisbon 3-1 in Portugal.

Two late goals in two minutes by Nyron Nosworthy and Anthony Stokes saw Sunderland claim a morale-boosting win.

Sporting went ahead in the first half when Ronny fired the hosts into the lead with a 25-yard free-kick.

Sunderland drew level seven minutes after the break when Roy O’Donovan converted Stokes’ corner.

Tempers boiled over ten minutes from time when Michael Chopra was sent off for a late tackle and Keane was banished to the stands for remonstrating with the fourth official about the striker’s dismissal.

Nosworthy headed the Black Cats into the lead with his first goal for the club after 84 minutes before Stokes sealed victory with a shot from 10 yards a minute later.

Keane’s sending off could mean he is banned from the dug-out for the start of the Premier League next month, while Chopra could face a three-match ban for violent conduct.

Posted in English Premier League, Portugese Liga, Videos | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Marseille 2008 Day 5 Wrap Up

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

Here’s a summary of the Day 5 action from the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup. Highlights are available on the FIFA website at this link. These are the latest standings from the tournment. As expected, perennial heavyweights France, Portugal, Italy and Uruguay qualified for the quarter finals.

We couldn’t find any pictures of the 2008 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup cheerleaders today, so until they return here’s one from the Rio 2006 edition of the tournament.

France edge through on top
France sneaked into the quarter-finals as Group A winners courtesy of a 4-3 win over Uruguay; a result which condemned Senegal to elimination.

Senegal pile pressure on France
Senegal kept their side of the bargain by beating Iran 4-1. France had to beat Uruguay in normal time to pip the Africans to a quarter-final place.


Naka sends Solomons home in style
The irrepressible James Naka scored four times to inspire Solomon Islands to a 6-3 victory over El Salvador in the battle to finish third in Group B.


Belchior bags top spot for Portugal
Belchior completed his hat-trick in extra time to earn Portugal a 5-4 win over Italy in the battle to go through to the last eight as group winners.

Posted in Babes, FIFA World Cup | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »

AC Milan Official adidas 2008-09 Home, Away and Third Kits / Jerseys / Maglie

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

At long last, AC Milan has officially presented their 2008-09 adidas home, away, third and goalkeeper kits. Football Fashion gave you a look at these last week during the official AC Milan presentations of Ronaldinho, Flamini and Antonini. The kits all appear to be based on adidas Toque template.

The new home has 5 red bands and 4 black ones in the front/ The the sleeves are black with 3 red stripes. ROSSONERI is written  in black on a red background on the back of the home shirt.






Posted in 2008/09 Kits & Jerseys, adidas, Italian Serie A | Tagged: , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

West Ham United Umbro 2008-09 Home Kits / Jerseys

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

The new West Ham United home kit has been revealed today. Officially launched on Wednesday 30 July, the striking claret and blue kit which has been made using Umbro’s new Trilogy fabric, a thermodynamic performance-enhancing material designed to control vapour, moisture and heat. The new kit has a unique contrast v neckline featuring a white mock collar, solid sky sleeves and tonal striped jacquard throughout the main body.

The perfect complement to the already-released sky blue away kit released last month, the new home strip is expected to be equally popular for fans wanting to follow their favourites in style next season. This is the very same athlete-inspired range that is being worn by Alan Curbishley’s men during the pre-season tour of North America this summer.

The Hammers will take on the Major League Soccer All-Stars on Thursday night (July, 24th, 2008) at 7:00 OM EST.



Posted in 2008/09 Kits & Jerseys, English Premier League, Umbro, Uncategorized | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Ronaldinho will wear # 80 at AC Milan – Press Conference

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

MILAN – During today’s AC Milan’s 2008-09 adidas kit presentation press conference, it was announced that will wear the number 80 for the upcoming Serie A season. This is inspired by his date of birth – March 21, 1980.

Here’s a transcript from the press conference.

“This is a really special moment in my career. I think any player dreams of playing in a team as important as Milan, for this club’s greatness and the importance of their players. It’s truly a special moment and wearing this shirt is already a victory for me.

In Barcelona I spent a very positive period in my career, I managed to win important titles with my team mates, then for a period we didn’t win anymore so we decided together to separate. I’m happy to be here and I’m convinced that with Milan’s shirt I will be able to win more important titles.”

How do you think you will play with Kaká?
“I’m very happy to be able to play with Kaká, I consider him one of the best in the world. He’s also a great friend. Here at Milan I have a lot of friends and I don’t think there will be any problems in my adjustment. I have played many times with Kaká in the national team winning important things as well.”

When you came to San Siro for Demetrio Albertini’s goodbye match you found a crowd who already cheered you a lot…
“Yes it was a really special moment, I did not expect it. A few minutes later the match would start, so there should have been some rivalry, but I saw the special affection the crowd had for me. I practically feel at home already.
I’ve also had the chance to speak with many Brazilians who have been at Milan and they’ve all spoken very positively about the environment in this club and that only increased by curiosity. I am very motivated.”

Did you ever think of joining Manchester City?
“In the period I was injured I only thought of getting better. But I knew there were negotiations with Milan.”

What shirt number will you get?
“We haven’t made a decision about that yet, I will tell you when it’s been decided.”

It was later announced that Ronaldinho will wear #80.

Do you think your involvement in the Olympics could take away some important time in your adjustment at Milan?
“I don’t think so. I consider the Olympics a very important competition, especially for Brazil who have never won it. This is a very important moment in my career, everything’s changing and I think that this engagement will not interfere with my adjustment in the team.”

The fans welcomed you very warmly, did you expect it?
“I thank the fans for the welcome they have given me and the affection they have shown. This is something that motivates me even more to repay them with my enthusiasm.”

What do you think of Italian football?
“The Serie A is one of the most competitive leagues in the world, I can’t say anything about the Italian league because I haven’t had the chance to play in it yet. But I am very positive and I’m sure everything will go for the best.”

Do you think you will miss playing in the Champions League?
“Anyone who has had the chance of playing in a prestigious competition like the Champions League knows its importance. Not playing in this competition this year only gives us extra motivation to make sure Milan goes back to playing in this tournament again soon.”

How do you feel about the match against Inter when you will meet many of your friends?
“I think each game has the same importance. I don’t think one match is more important than the other. Personally I think only about preparing well for each game I play and I’m happy to see that some of my countrymen have the chance to play in important Italian clubs.”

The Italian press gives a lot of importance to the life of footballers off the pitch, how influential is your non-football life?
“I’ve always had a regular life and I will continue to live the same way now. I have never had these problems and I will continue like this to be able to give my best.”

It’s been a very long negotiation…
“My brother Roberto has always taken care of negotiations, my only duty has always been to play football. I’ve come to Milan with the idea of winning and I hope to win more titles for this club which has already won so much, along with my team mates. I hope that my experience, even though I am still young, can help us to win. I think this is the right moment to come here and I’m certain of the respect and the trust of this great club, then it will be up to the coach to decide for me.”

Posted in 2008/09 Kits & Jerseys, adidas, Italian Serie A, Transfers & Signings | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Swansea City Umbro 2008-09 Home and Away Kits / Jerseys

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

Swansea City have teamed up with Halo Data Ltd to launch their new away kit for the forthcoming Championship campaign. Halo Data, known locally as FSDM, will have pride of place on the back of the new Umbro flint grey and navy blue kit, plus the popular home shirt.

After a dominating run in League One last season led by Trinidad and Tobago striker, Jason Scotland, Swansea CIty  make their return to the second tier of English football for the first time since the 1982-83 season. Good luck Swans!




Posted in 2008/09 Kits & Jerseys, English Football League, Umbro | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Marseille 2008 Day 4 Wrap Up

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

Here’s a summary of today’s action from the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup. Highlights are available on the FIFA website at this link. These are the latest standings from the tournment. Also, the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup cheerleaders are back!

Brazil excite in victory
Brazil beat Japan 8-1 to move on to the brink of a place in the quarter-finals, while the result left the Asians with a mountain to climb.

Joy for impenetrable Russia
Russia scored four times without reply to eliminate Cameroon and ensure the winner of their meeting with United Arab Emirates will advance.


Argentina stride towards quarters
Marcelo Salgueiro, Federico Hilaire and Cesar Leguizamon starred as Argentina beat United Arab Emirates to move towards the quarter-finals.

Spain comeback undoes Mexico
Goals from Amarelle and Antonio reversed an early deficit to earn Spain a 2-1 win over Mexico that left them in a strong position to advance.

Posted in Babes, FIFA World Cup | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Makelele leaves Chelsea for PSG – Signing Pictures

Posted by 5nil on July 21, 2008

Veteran French midfielder Claude Makelele has been released on a free transfer by Chelsea, allowing him to sign for Paris St Germain.

The 35-year-old, who spent five years at Stamford Bridge, will be unveiled by PSG at a news conference on Monday.

“Everyone at Chelsea would like to thank Claude for the service he has given us,” said a club statement.

Makelele joined Chelsea from Spanish giants Real Madrid in 2003, costing the Stamford Bridge outfit £16.8m.

He won two Premier League titles and played 217 times for Chelsea, scoring two goals in the process.

Here are the PSG 2008-09 Nike home and away kits.

Posted in French Ligue 1 | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »